What Does He Need From You?

Something happened at work today that was not good. This thing that happened  brought out my insecurities. I had to work very hard to keep a positive attitude all day. My coworkers commented that I was very quiet today. What they did not know was that I spent most of my day praying and intentionally guiding my thoughts so that this “thing” did not derail my joy and turn me into a cranky jerk.

Over supper, hubby and I discussed the “thing” and how I had dealt with it. It was a positive conversation but still awkward and uncomfortable (although necessary) for me. We finished with the topic and moved on, but I still kinda felt funny. We were heading home when my husband started trying to distract me and make me laugh. I had no clue what he was up to. He joked around and got me to laugh. By the time we made it home I had completely forgotten the awkward conversation.

About a half hour after arriving home, it dawned on me what he had done. I asked him about it and he just smiled. So I thanked him for what he had done.  He gave me exactly what I needed. This got me to thinking, what does he need from me that I am not currently doing?

I want to give him what he needs from me. In order to do that I have to think and pray about what that might be. He is after all, a man. And I am a woman. We need different things.

For example, after some discussion over the past few months I have found out that after work he needs me to talk about things other than work. His job has been stressful lately and when we leave work he wants to leave work at work. This is not what I would have guessed he needed from me. I would have thought that he would want to talk things out, but that is not something he needs from me.

So what else does my husband need from me? What he did for me today meant so much. It reminded me that I need to be thinking about him and his needs often. What can I do to actively love him more.

What about your husband? What can you do to actively love him and give him what he needs? Spend some time thinking and praying about it. I am sure we can all come up with some way to bless our husbands.

long-lasting-marriage-1024x737

 

 

Leave a Reply

